Why are tarot cards used

Tarot for beginners: you need to know that!

Tarot for beginners: you need to know that!

We explain which tarot cards there are, what they mean, what the major and minor arcana is all about and how you can lay the cards for yourself. Say: Tarot for beginners!

Tarot is a set of 78 playing cardswith the help of which many people promise themselves insights into their own, often unconscious soul life. So it's not about predicting the future, it's about should serve as a self-awareness and as a guide. Card reading should help to better understand yourself and your surroundings. The tarot has a long tradition and some traces of a tarot predecessor even go back to ancient Egypt. Tarot is still very popular today - people all over the world also hope that the tarot cards will provide answers to life's questions.

So that you as a beginner can get an overview of the complex topic, we have put together the most important facts about tarot for you:

Building a tarot deck: the tarot cards

A tarot deck usually consists of 78 tarot cards, which are in two sections split up - the "Major Arcana" and the "Minor arcana". In the tarot interpretation, the minor arcana stands for everyday matters and questions. The major arcana deals with major life issues, upheavals and twists. The origin of the name from Latin, namely "arcanum", which translates as "secret", is also evident. So it's about the big and small secrets of life.

Does my relationship have a future? Will I soon meet the love of my life? No matter if single or taken - the tarot love oracle offers you answers about partnership and feelings. Thanks to the tarot of love, with card reading you can ... Continue reading

The Major Arcana comprises 22 cards, the so-called symbol cards. 56 cards (4 x 14 cards) are assigned according to the color rows of a deck of cards 1 to 10 and each have 4 so-called court cards, consisting of jack, knight, queen and king - they become the Minor arcana assigned. They are similar in structure to a normal rummy sheet, but differ from these by the symbols, namely "swords", "goblets", "sticks" and "coins". The assignment of the four elements earth, water, fire and air to the four colors is a key factor in the interpretation of tarot.

However, there is no single tarot deck. The three most famous tarot decks are Marseille, the Rider Waite and the Crowley tarot.

The minor arcana

The four series of the minor arcana consist of the Number and yard cards with the Goblets, Coins, Swords or. Rods. The Minor Arcana is often seen as less important as it covers more everyday issues. For this reason, some fortune-tellers often leave them out in their interpretation.

  • The chalices - element of water - symbolic meaning: feeling, instinct

  • The coins - element earth - symbolic meaning: matter, practical and factual

  • The swords - element of air - symbolic meaning: thinking, spirit, intellect

  • The rods - element fire - symbolic meaning: will, power, imagination, intuition

  • The ace in tarot - is assigned the number 1

Court cards

  • The boy - element earth - in real life: a child, adolescent or young woman

  • The knight - element of air - in real life: young, enterprising man

  • The queen - element of water - in real life: mature, tough woman (and mother)

  • The king - the element of fire - in real life: a mature, tough man

The major arcana

The decisive peculiarity of the tarot, however, are the 22 other cards, the major arcana or trumps, which are added to the 56 color cards. The 22 cards of the major arcana are the so-called Symbol cards. They indicate important phases or life breaks. Their numbering starts with the Roman numeral 0, the "fool", and ends with the number XXI, the "world". The fool can also stand at the end of the tarot and symbolize the number 22. Each card has a special meaning, which then gives the interpretation of the position in the placement scheme.

The card images (major arcana)

  • 0 = the fool (card value 0, planet or zodiac sign: earth)

  • 1 = The magician (card value 1, planet or zodiac sign: Aries)

  • 2 = The High Priestess (card value 2, planet or zodiac sign: Taurus)

  • 3 = The ruler (card value 3, planet or zodiac sign: Gemini)

  • 4 = The ruler (card value 4, planet or zodiac sign: Cancer)

  • 5 = The Hierophant (card value 5, planet or zodiac sign: Leo)

  • 6 = The lovers (card value 5, planet or zodiac sign: Virgo)

  • 7 = The wagon (card value 7, planet or zodiac sign: Libra)

  • 8 = Justice (card value 7, planet or zodiac sign: Aquarius)

  • 9 = The Hermit (card value 9, planet or zodiac sign: Sagittarius)

  • 10 = The Wheel of Fate (card value 10, planet or zodiac sign: Capricorn)

  • 11 = The power (card value 11, planet or zodiac sign: Scorpio)

  • 12 = The Hanged Man (card value 12, planet or zodiac sign: Pisces)

  • 13 = Death (card value 13, planet or zodiac sign: Saturn)

  • 14 = temperance (card value 14, planet or zodiac sign: Mercury)

  • 15 = The devil (card value 15, planet or zodiac sign: Mars)

  • 16 = the tower (card value 16, planet or zodiac sign: Uranus)

  • 17 = the star (card value 17, planet or zodiac sign: Venus)

  • 18 = the moon (card value 18, planet or zodiac sign: moon)

  • 19 = the sun (card value 19, planet or zodiac sign: moon)

  • 20 = The judgment (card value 20, planet or zodiac sign: Jupiter)

  • 21 = The world (card value 21, planet or zodiac sign: Neptune)

Card reading: how does it work?

All over the world people have been using these tarot cards for a long time and are hoping for new insights into their own soul life and possibilities of self-awareness. Every tarot player can hold a mirror up to himself through the cards - interpreting cards is often seen as an interplay between image and viewer. The spontaneous reaction to a tarot picture is just as important as a certain interpretive knowledge that is transmitted. Both components - personal concern and previous symbol interpretation - ultimately result in the concrete meaning of a tarot card in today's card reading. The map should not be viewed as an existing fact, but as a guide!

Tarot: The most important laying systems

Become whole in tarot different laying systems applied - after all, there are very diverse topics, concerns and problems around which the survey can revolve. The most widely used laying systems include:

  1. The Celtic Cross
  2. The playoff
  3. The love oracle
  4. The way
  5. The chance
  6. The blind spot
  7. The relationship game

Laying cards: fortune telling cards

Card reading is a form of fortune telling that has been around for centuries. Even Hollywood stars like Brad Pitt and Demi Moore have their cards laid or hand read to find out about their future.
Continue reading

So I lay out the tarot cards for myself

Sufficient for beginners or the private setting the cards of the major arcana first off. It is best to start with three cards. You line them up next to each other in front of you. The left card symbolizes the past, the middle one the present and the right one the future. It is not only important what the individual cards mean, but much more the relationship to each other. However, this is a very complex system and requires a closer look at the topic.

One can draw a tarot card every day and find out what the day will bring. However, a particularly large number of people use tarot cards when they have problems and unresolved questions. Then you can ask the cards very precise questions - and possibly learn more about your own feelings, thoughts and unrest!

By the way: For a great start into the world of tarot, we recommend the book "Tarot for Beginners". The book contains all the important meanings and insider tips and is supplied with the appropriate tarot cards.